DUI Lawyers in Mesa, AZ, Providing Solid Legal Representation For Clients Accused of Driving Under the Influence
If you or a loved one has been charged with a Mesa DUI, you must hire an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation and takes drunk driving charges seriously. As a result, without an experienced Mesa DUI lawyer on your side, you could face jail time or even prison, depending on the circumstances surrounding the case.
A DUI arrest or conviction can negatively impact your life and cost you thousands of dollars. As with all criminal offenses, hiring an experienced attorney who can defend your legal rights is always best.
If you or a family member is facing DUI charges, contact The Turner Law Firm PLLC and ask to schedule an appointment with an experienced Mesa DUI lawyer. Our DUI attorneys have extensive experience handling DUI cases and will fight to help you obtain a favorable outcome for your case.
Why is Blood Alcohol Content Important in a DUI Case?
Blood alcohol content (BAC) is important in drunk driving cases as it indicates the percentage of alcohol in an individual’s bloodstream. Typically, prosecutors will focus on a defendant’s BAC because it indicates the degree to which they were impaired by alcohol. The legal limit in Arizona is
Even if your BAC is less than 0.08, you can still receive a DUI if the police officer believes you are impaired to the slightest degree. If your BAC is 0.08-0.14 within two hours of driving, you will be charged with a DUI. If your BAC is greater than 0.15 within two hours of driving, you will probably be charged with extreme DUI, which, if you are convicted, results in more severe penalties.
If your BAC is 0.20 or higher, you will be charged with super-extreme DUI and face even harsher penalties. Our experienced DUI Defense Attorneys in Mesa will help confirm whether the BAC equipment used was calibrated correctly and whether the officer giving the BAC test was adequately trained. Additionally, many police officers fail to administer field sobriety tests correctly.
All of these factors have an impact on the outcome of your case. Therefore, you must hire an experienced Mesa DUI attorney who can review your criminal charges to ensure that your legal rights are protected.
What is an Aggravated DUI?
Arizona law stipulates that an individual may be charged with an aggravated DUI if specific legal factors are involved. These legal factors may include:
- The defendant has a suspended license.
- The defendant has two or more DUI convictions within the past 5 years
- The defendant is accused of causing death or serious bodily injury to another person
- A minor child was present in the vehicle.
If convicted of aggravated DUI charges, a person would be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of four years in prison, a license suspension for at least three years, and mandatory alcohol screening and classes.
Additionally, a driver could be charged with a felony DUI if they were caught driving under the influence and had a suspended or restricted license. Some other circumstances that could result in a felony DUI include:
- It is the driver’s third DUI in 7 years.
- The driver must have an ignition interlock device on their vehicle but does not have it.
- The driver was caught driving on the wrong side of the roadway.
- The driver had a minor under the age of 15 in the vehicle with them.
All DUI criminal cases are taken seriously in Maricopa County. Consequently, our legal team is dedicated to providing clients with a robust defense to help them keep their driving privileges and avoid jail time. Contact The Turner Law Firm PLLC for a free consultation to see what legal services we can provide for your DUI case.
What Are the Criminal Penalties For a DUI Charge?
The criminal penalties for a DUI conviction vary according to the circumstances involved. The amount of jail or prison time an individual may face depends on several factors, such as previous DUI convictions and whether others were injured.
For a regular DUI, the penalties include:
- First offense: Jail time of not less than 10 consecutive days and a fine of up to $1,250.
- Second offense: Jail time of not less than 90 days, a fine of up to $3,000, and a driver’s license suspension for 12 months.
A first and second offense requires the individual to undergo alcohol screening, education, and treatment, have a certified ignition interlock device, and complete community service hours.
For an Extreme DUI where the individual had a BAC of 0.15 or greater, the penalties include:
- First offense: Jail time of not less than 30 consecutive days and a fine of not less than $2,500. Additionally, any individual convicted of an Extreme DUI is not eligible for probation or a suspended sentence.
- Second offense: Jail time of not less than 120 days, a fine of not less than $3,250, and a driver’s license suspension for 12 months.
As with a regular DUI conviction, the individuals convicted of Extreme DUI must also complete an alcohol screening, education, and treatment, install a certified ignition interlock device on their vehicles, and complete community service hours.
What Makes Your Mesa DUI Lawyers the Best Choice For My Criminal Defense?
The Turner Law Firm PLLC has a proven track record of helping DUI clients protect their driving privileges. A conviction for driving under the influence in Arizona has serious consequences.
Therefore, it is imperative that before you plead guilty to DUI charges, you consult with a highly trained DUI lawyer to provide you with legal representation. Our Mesa DUI lawyers clearly understand state DUI laws and what it takes to help clients achieve favorable results.
If you or a family member has been arrested on drunk driving charges, contact The Turner Law Firm PLLC of Mesa at 480-618-1221 and ask to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and learn what legal services may be available.